In the beginning… “Base of Jacob” was incorporated by 11 men on September 19, 1907. Ten years later, in February 1917, it became known as Temple Beth Jacob. In 1946, Temple Beth Jacob affiliated with the Union for Reform Judaism. For a period of time prior to this, services were conducted in the Orthodox tradition. Rabbi Aaron B. Ilson, who was raised in the Orthodox tradition, but was ordained as a Reform rabbi, provided the transition from Orthodox to Reform.
In the years since, the congregation has continued to grow in size, scope of activities, and in its dedication to the diversity of Jewish ideas and ideals. Through the nearly 100 years of our existence, a series of dedicated rabbis and congregational leaders has enabled TBJ to go from those initial 11 men to nearly 200 families from near-isolation as Jews in the Concord area to becoming an integral part of the larger Jewish community of New Hampshire and beyond.
Founded in 1907 as an Orthodox Temple, we are now a traditional Reform Congregation that has not forgotten its Orthodox Jewish roots. Beginning with 11 founding families, today Temple Beth Jacob boasts more than 175 families from a wide geographic area around Concord.
Our present synagogue, originally purchased in 1937, has been updated several times in its history, most recently in 1989 when the building was expanded and renovated to include a larger sanctuary, kitchen, libraries, offices and classrooms. We are a group of families involved in not only our religious community, but also active members of our cities and towns.